Harbour of my heart

Waitemata, harbour of my heart,

the lights of Tamaki Makaurau are glistening on your surface.

Pools of light & oily blackness calling me.

I want to throw myself into your cool waters.

Wash off the busyness of my head.

Stretch my limbs and swim to the other side.

The port lights flickering red, yellow & white.

The city towers blink.

I can hear distant sirens wail & closer the slick tension of rubber & road.

I have two supermarket bags to unpack and a home to go to.

 

Leave a Reply

